A Declaration of Intent

You know, I’ve been meaning to start up this blog for awhile…and now seems like the perfect time, as I begin to organize my experiments for this year, and the next, and quite possibly the next after that…

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s start from the beginning.

I’m a self-taught artist and crafter from Maine, and I’m constantly working on one experiment or another. While I do draw and write and paint and such, right now I’m completely and totally absorbed in the fiber arts. I dye some, I crochet a lot… and I love to spin. At the moment my tools include five top-whorl drop spindles and a single pair of hand cards; I’m hoping to increase my tool chest before the end of this year (and to have a wheel by the end of 2014!)

As for the challenges– I am constantly pushing myself to try new things, new fibers, new techniques…and I am starting this blog to chronicle my successes (as well as my inevitable failures) in my attempts to further my ‘fiber horizons’…which, I’m sure, makes me sound like some sort of self-absorbed hipster crafter or something….Eh.

ANYWAYS my challenges! I have two planned, and I’m hoping that outlining my personal rules and posting about them along the way will keep me focused and motivated– I have the habit of becoming horribly bored extremely quickly; these projects, by nature, shouldn’t be boring, but here we go–

Project One: GOTTA SPIN THEM ALL!

Intent: To spin through the entire ‘fleecydex’– that is, “The Fleece & Fiber Sourcebook”, by Deborah Robson & Carol Ekarius.

Rules:

1.) I must spin at least 80% of the fibers listed within the book (some may be impossible to source…this is inevitable).

2.) While I don’t have to spin them in order, it is preferred.

3.) I must spin at least one ounce of each fiber for it to count.

4.) While following the rules of PGSTA, I must also follow the ‘laws’ of my attempt to destash. To be able to buy fiber, I must first use three times that amount of my stash (so to buy an ounce, I must first spin or crochet 3 ounces…) I must continue to follow this rule until my stash is at 25% of its’ current level, at which point it will change to ‘use an ounce, buy an ounce’, thus keeping my stash stable.

I will post the ‘fleecydex’ in a separate post; it’s mostly the different breeds in that book, but I’m adding a couple sections to the non-sheep section that relate to my second project:

Project Two:  K9-6

Intent: To experiment with spinning six separate canine species or breeds. These will fit within the realm of PGSTA, but have separate rules, namely:

1.) Three of the subjects must be wild species, while three must be dog breeds.

2.) I must spin at least two ounces of each fiber. They must be spun in such a way so that all six yarns can be used in the same project.

3.) The fibers must be acquired in a raw state and hand-processed. They must also be acquired *legally* (lol).

So that’s it for my rules… Now to actually *start* the process 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Declaration of Intent

  1. empress27 says:

    Love the thought of your first project! I must get hold of that book somehow – off to look on Amazon. Great start to your blog, I look forward to seeing how you get on 🙂

Leave a Reply

