A Smattering of This, That, and Some Wool :)

So. Overdue. Urg. I finally have the time to sit down and blog πŸ™‚

It’s been an eventful month. My parents left on vacation/I babysat for almost a whole week…I’m in the middle of changing jobs/my schedule is currently crazy…and just in general I’ve been really busy with one thing or another… but now I can properly post πŸ™‚

First off, the non-breed-study stuff, to just get that out of the way…

Image

Wolf hat! It’s based on the Sly Fox pattern, and I used my Icelandic breed study yarns ‘cus the texture reminded me so much of canine fur. The color, the feel…such a great match πŸ™‚

Second…I made another shawl from handspun…

Image

It’s a combo of my ‘Passionfruit’ yarn and my Warhill breed study; this shawl went to my sister πŸ™‚ She seems to like it well enough…

Also…I’m continuing to experiment with those wire shawl pins:

Image

I’m still not satisfied with my results, though, so I’ll keep at it.

Now to what you all really read this blog for ^.^”

Breed study πŸ™‚

#33: Merino

Image

Ah, yes, the ubiquitous Merino…pretty much every spinner has spun some at one point or another; it’s everywhere…and it’s really not my cup of tea. Sure, it’s soft and takes dye wonderfully, but I find it hard to spin (I’m just not much good at drafting fine wools), and at the end of the day, I prefer something more pill-resistant. Still, like I said, it’s super soft, and many people love that πŸ™‚

4.8 ounces became 128 yards of worsted.

#70 (Part A): Corriedale

(There are two parts to #70 because Corriedale and Bond are basically the same breed, so I just kept them together…)

Image

I chose to spin two samples of Corriedale, as I heard it tends to vary wildly. Boy, were they not lying…. πŸ™‚ The red corriedale batt (well, mostly Corrie. 5% sparkle lol) had a lovely luster, but the wool is only medium-soft. It spun up wonderfully easy (really enjoyable!), but I’m not certain it’s next-to-skin soft. *Sigh* I love the dye job, though…

4 ounces became 180 yards of DK weight.

My other sample has very little luster, but is much finer and softer. I found it similarly easy to spin.

1 ounce became 52 yards of DK weight.

#70 (Part B): Bond

Bond. Sheep Bond. Bahhhhhnnd…. :3

Image

Love, love, LOVE Bond! Or this sample, anyway πŸ™‚ It combined the best properties of the two Corriedale samples (luster, softness, spinability) to create a spinner’s dream. Plus I just love colored wools, and it’s a pretty fantastic color…

2.6 ounces became 116 yards of…I don’t have it near me right now; if I remember right, it was sport/DK weight (varied somewhat).

#87: Romeldale

Image

Again, gorgeous color πŸ™‚ I found the loose wool softer than my yarn, though. It’s hard to explain; I just feel like spinning ruined some of its nicer properties ^.^” It’s not terrible, though.

1 ounce became 36 ounces of worsted.

#88: California Variagated Mutant

Butbutbut…why did you combine Corriedale and Bond but not Romeldale and CVM?!?!?!

Because I can. Shush.

Image

I spun both a roving and a top sample for this one; they spun pretty much identically. Oddly enough, even though they are basically the same breed, I found the CVM softer…probably just an ‘individual sheep’ thing, though.

.8 ounces of grey roving became 44 yards of sport.

1.2 ounces of beige top became 54 yards of sport.

Β 

So that’s all the Fleecydex I have at the moment. I’m working on Rambouillet a bit right now, and deciding which breed to pick up next πŸ˜‰ In the meantime…

Image

I love my longwools πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

