Sore with a Smile.

I mentioned that I got a new job, right? I’m guessing I did, although at the moment I can’t remember ^.^” It’s been an…interesting transition. My manager promises that with a month or so I won’t feel it as much, and that lifting the 50+ pound boxes won’t be such a big deal…but for the moment, I come home feeling like jelly every day, so not much spinning going on 😦 Or crocheting, either… the lifting has been pretty hard on my wrists, too.

There has, though, been a lot of drawing (different muscles). After two years of massive art block, the floodgates have been opened :3 Here’s a small sampling:

Image

Image…That’s only a small percentage of what I’ve been doing; I don’t want to totally spam you guys with pictures, though…they slow down some computers πŸ˜›

So I had a pretty fantastic weekend. See, the way the job switchover worked, I ended up getting my paycheck for both jobs on the same day. That’s right… Friday I got two full paychecks…and my tax return :3 I think you can see where this is going, right? πŸ˜‰

Okay, just to be clear, I didn’t totally blow all of it (although I considered it). Half did get stuffed away to be saved for my Future Apartment. But the rest I spent. And it was funnnnnnn πŸ™‚ So excuse my rant-y-ness, but I really want to share!

1.) First of all, this wasn’t even part of it, but it was slightly related. I’ve mentioned the Willow Glen breed study many times; I love spinning along with that group. Recently, though, the owner of Willow Glen announced that this is the last year for breed study, as she wants to focus more on her farm (which, while somewhat sad for me and the other breed studiers, is fantastic for her, and I’m excited to see where she takes things :). Anyways, she had a destash sale, and since I already had half of the money saved up for next year’s breed study…

Image

Two of them are for my fleecydex (the Badgerface Welsh and the orange/red Gulf Coast Native that I bought as dyed locks and carded into baby batts). The rest (some lovely dyed Jacob, an alpaca batt, some Shetland that I didn’t actually buy but that ended up in my package and she told me to keep it…) is just for fun πŸ˜‰

2.) As I’m getting back into art, I decided to invest a fair amount in some new materials (not that I need any; I just like widening my scope).

Image

The first image is my haul from an incredible art supply store my parents discovered up north a bit that they finally took me to; the other is my haul from my favorite website of all time, Jetpens (such a great place!). I’m not sure how much is recognizable from the pics, but I got an assortment of brush pens, gel pens, watercolor pencils, waterbrushes, sketchbooks, stickers, fountain pens….yeah πŸ™‚ I’m pretty happy.

So this is what my art desk looks like now:

Image

And this is my on-the-go art case (aka a crochet hook roll I turned into a pen case…):

Image

Everything I neeeeedddd πŸ™‚

3.) I bought new sneakers… not really a frivolous purchase; I really did need them (my old pair was worn through to the plastic, and kept cutting open my heel). But they’re neon orange, so that’s cool. And while I was at Marshall’s, I bought a cool hedgehog mug and some chocolate covered espresso beans, so that was nice.

4.) Not here yet, but I placed an Amazon order for ink for my new fountain pens and the tools to turn them into eye dropper pens.

5.) Also not here yet, but I checked out the Spinning Loft and found rare Norse fleeces from breeds I thought I’d never find! So I have four breeds for my breed study on their way to me πŸ™‚ They will be photographed when they arrive.

6.) Finally…and this is totally frivolous…I have a new little friend for my ‘action figure’ collection:

Image

Now I just need to buy the ‘Lego’ Delorean…so I can have a De-Loki-an πŸ˜‰ /getsshot πŸ˜‰

That’s all for now, I guess…hopefully I’ll be spinning soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sore with a Smile.

  1. Regenerating Nations says:

    Sounds like Christmas come late….or early! Seems the physical labour is letting ur creative juices & it’s lovely work. Don’t punish urself for not spinning tho we need to take a break from things to be more prolific don’t ya think?

    • Considering I spent my winter bonus on clothes… πŸ™‚ It’s nice to buy some fun things occasionally.

      I just hope I’ll be able to crochet soon; I have a few deadlines coming up ^.^”

      • Regenerating Nations says:

        Ahhhh deadlines. They have a way of putting some extra spice into our lives don’t they? πŸ˜‰

      • Yes. And I seem to work best when I’m under the wire πŸ˜‰

        I’m happy to say, though, that I received an email that one of my deadlines has been pushed back to August. So at least my workload has been cut in half…otherwise I’d have to crochet non-stop until May πŸ˜›

      • Learning to Walk Softly w/Cheyenne Christine says:

        I get so frustrated with myself when I slack off but it feels so sweet when things like that happen & u get more time πŸ™‚

  2. I found the blog in a different section of my gmail.. It sounds like you had a fun weekend! Your art collection of pens is fantastic! Looking forward to what you come up with for my pig and thistle art.

  3. Pingback: (Frustrated) Fleece Update | Without Your Wings

Leave a Reply

