(Frustrated) Fleece Update

I am not by nature a patient person. I hate waiting, I hate being unable to do whatever it is I’m excited about. If you’re going to take me somewhere, tell me just days before; otherwise I will agonize over my own impatient thoughts for days.

The fleeces are all washed, but are taking for-ev-er to dry, and some of them I may have to wash a second time because once again I did not manage to get all the lanolin out, even though by then end the water washed clear (and lanolin is generally cloudy, right? Right?!…As far as I know, at least). I’m deciding still whether or not to re-wash, or to spin and then hard-wash the yarn (I can be more rough with yarn than fiber). Seeing as the wool will need at least two more days to dry…

I didn’t just wash the Norse breeds and the Oxford. I also washed up a Longwools sampler and some California Red from The Spinning Loft, plus some Tunis x Corriedale locks I bought at that fiber festival I blogged about ages ago

Some highlights:

Image

DUDE TEESWATER LOCKS IZ SO LONG!! But really. I’ve never seen dark Teeswater before; I was really excited to find it in that sampler ๐Ÿ™‚

Another surprise stand-out…

Image

Image

California Red…surprisingly soft and floofy, with purdy crimp :3 I really like it; I’m excited to spin it, and it should spin nice straight from the lock…or I might card. Haven’t decided.

As for everything else…

ImageImage

I miss my floor ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And I really need a drying rack…or three.

In the meantime…

Image

I’ve been working on spinning this BFL/Romney cross fleece I was given in a trade. I plan on plying it with the ‘Seaside’ Jacob I bought, so it’s like sand and surf…if it goes the way I think it will, it’ll be pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess once I finish this, I’ll spin the Jacob. I should have time…

‘cus my fleece refuses to dry :K

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to (Frustrated) Fleece Update

  1. arleneandbill says:

    You are busy on your day off from work.

  2. arleneandbill says:

    If you can move your arms after work! Lol. Sounds like you have it figured out.

Leave a Reply

