Fiber Festival of New England 2014!!!

Today was a fantastic day πŸ˜€ I’ve been waiting for this all week, and it was so worth it.

Fiber Festival of New England— yesssssss. (You might remember when I went last year.)

We started our day slightly early– it was drizzly and cold, but I didn’t really care. We arrived around 11:30; this time we went in through the back door, so I went back-to-front. Again, I didn’t really take many pictures inside, partially because I kinda feel like going around and taking pictures of stuff I ain’t buying is rude, and partially because my hands were full. Still, you know what a Fiber Festival looks like, right? Booth after booth of gorgeous yarns, soaps, beads, books, and, best of all, fiber and fleece???!! Surely you can imagine the amount of excitement when someone like me enters what basically amounts to and LYS with 200 rooms???!!!

I did photograph some things, though. So let’s see…

Fiber Festival of New England Loot 1So from first bought to last, I picked up:

By that point me and my ‘companion for the day’ (Little Sister #1) had finished up through the entire back section and headed towards the front, where I had been aimed from the beginning πŸ˜‰ see, the front is where the live animals are–

Fiber Festival of New England 2014 Animals(So much fluffy!!)

–and where the raw fleeces are:

Fiber Festival of New England 2014 Loot 2This year I picked up four :3

  • A 4.5# alpaca fleece from Jessica of Whispering Winds Alpaca Farm
  • A 5# Cormo/Romney X fleece from Daisy of Winterberry Farm
  • A 2.75# Romney fleece from Aurora Ranch
  • A 1.5# Border Leicester fleece (possibly lamb) from Mistwood Farm

Mwahahaha let there be fleece… πŸ˜€ That Romney is to be plied with my Kramer fleece from last year, methinks. The Border Leicester is ridiculously soft…I want to spin it fine. The ‘Daisy’ fleece is for experimentation, as is the ‘Jessica’ fleece πŸ™‚

Little Sister #1 got some stuffs as well:

Fiber Festival of New England Sister's Loot(She was complaining that Sister #2 ends up on my blog more often [Sister #2 is my hat model]…so this should make her happy.)

Fiber Festival of New England Business CardsSister counting her obsessively-gathered business cards…

After three hours of wandering the wares, we headed to Part Deux of the perfect day– the best donuts on Earth πŸ™‚

Fiber Festival of New England 2014 Donut DipSeriously. Best donuts…and really good coffee, too. I bought extra this time to freeze πŸ™‚

Fiber Festival of New England 2014 Caught in the ActNom…caught in the act πŸ˜‰

After all that we went to Cracker Barrel for dinner (several hours after the donuts, I promise πŸ˜‰ ) I didn’t take a huge amount of pictures there… but they sell some odd stuff there 0_0

Fiber Festival of New England 2014 Cracker Barrel is WeirdHa…

Already excited for next year πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fiber Festival of New England 2014!!!

  1. Jan says:

    What a great day, I wish I was there! Love your photos!

  2. Pingback: New Beginnings, Part Deux | Without Your Wings

  3. Pingback: All in a Month (or Three)’s Work | Without Your Wings

  4. Pingback: Dyeing for Color. | Without Your Wings

Leave a Reply

