Calico Dreams

Kya-girly

Kya-girly

It’s funny how sometimes I’ll be working away with one hobby (in this case, fish keeping), and then, quite suddenly, one of my other hobbies will ‘cry out’ (so to speak) and within the course of a single day I’m all wrapped up in that one once more.

There is a part of me that really, really wants to keep fancy, very expensive, hard-to-maintain goldfish. For what I want, I’d basically need an indoor pond, a much higher level of income, and a cold heart so I don’t get upset when my aquatic guinea pig dies because goldfish are ridiculously fragile.

My next thought was to find the perfect mermaid BJD and paint it up like a pretty goldfish (‘cus, you know, dolls can’t really die…) This planet seems to be lacking in pretty mermaid dolls; I’ve been checking everywhere– Soom (expensive and not what I had in mind), PlanetDoll (the weird thigh gap…not my style), Asleep Eidolon (expensive and not correct for my needs; I need something very blank & basic)… All this searching led me back to my go-to for ‘discovering’ dolls (eBay)… which led me to a new event from one of my favorite doll companies, DollZone…

First off, their new fantasy ‘flower’ mermaids that look like wicked-cool aliens… I’m fond of Trieda, although I won’t be buying her (they’re so expensive, them fancy ones…) From there I found out about their current sale (one free Bean doll with each doll purchase… they remind me of chao from the Sonic games). They also released four new 16cm dolls, which is where this post actual comes to my point, lol. My attempts at shelling my characters in Obitsu have not been working out; I really can’t seem them that way. But the four new DZ dolls left me feeling inspired, and I could totally see each of my characters within them, given the appropriate face-up & wig. Eclipse would look lovely as Hal. Yukio would be perfect as Mo. Ace is just right for Shyo. And even though Shadow isn’t actually my creation (I just use him a lot), I can definitely see him in Megi. These dolls are tiny (1/8th scale), sure, but that just adds to the charm– they’d be like chibi versions of my characters ❤ (After a quick browse, I also picked Raphael to be Othello, and Vanilla to be Marigold, but I don’t think I’ll be making them at this time).

So I put in my MoC order today ❤ Those four, plus the three Beans I get free, plus a couple of cute resin ‘pets’ for them… five months from now they will be mine, lol

Meanwhile, today’s been super rainy, so I spent the morning swapping out my dolls eyes and wigs to make them more… themselves? I think I know who they ‘are’ now, and I can choose their wigs and clothing accordingly 🙂

Renee Illumine

Renee Illumine

Jeanette Illumine

Jeanette Illumine

Remedium Illumine

Remedium Illumine

Gaille

Gaille

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Calico Dreams

  1. Pingback: Gold at the End of the Rainbow (March iPen Box + Goldfish) | Without Your Wings

Leave a Reply

