Maple Syrup.

I’ve been very busy lately, though unfortunately not with spinning (-_-”). My hours at my ‘real’ job have been cut, so I’ve been supplementing with something fun-but-time-consuming— selling toys on eBay. Doing pretty well, actually…

Anyways. This means I’ve been spending more-than-average time on eBay, and while doing so, I finally managed to track down an affordable example of a doll I really, really wanted 🙂 I’ve wanted a doll from the Jenny line for a while– not a specific doll, just a pretty one. Buying from the source– the Castle— is extremely difficult (in this country) and expensive, and I was having trouble finding one I liked on eBay…until a collector decided to sell off her collection of vintage NIB Jenny/Jenny’s Friends dolls and I managed to get a ‘Flora‘ at a very reasonable price 🙂

Pros: She can fit in Barbie clothes very well (particularly the ones that don’t fit Jeanette), she has an adorable anime face, fantasy hair, and is significantly more articulated than Barbie.

Cons: Her rubbery legs make it difficult to get tights/pants on her, and I worry about the durability of her weird click joints/wiring (bright side– if her body breaks, I can re-body her on an Obitsu). Also, not a con for the brand, but she’s been in her box so long, her hair is a total mess in the back, so she’ll probably end up totally re-styled in the future.

I decided to name her Kaede, after one of my favorite characters from Angelic Layer. The name means Maple 🙂

When she first came home :) She came in that blue bathing suit... I tried Jeanette's new dresses on her, but they aren't *for* her...

When she first came home 🙂 She came in that blue bathing suit… I tried Jeanette’s new dresses on her, but they aren’t *for* her…

Trying on  tons of outfits from my 'bag of unclaimed clothing'... some of these are ok, and I'll keep them separate for her (I like each of my dolls to have their own unique wardrobe).

Trying on tons of outfits from my ‘bag of unclaimed clothing’… some of these are ok, and I’ll keep them separate for her (I like each of my dolls to have their own unique wardrobe).

Oh, wait, there we go---

Oh, wait, there we go—

Cloak is from a Padme (Star Wars) doll, dress is 80s retro Barbie, tights are from a seller on eBay (they make them), shoes came with her. This is how I'll display her :)

Cloak is from a Padme (Star Wars) doll, dress is 80s retro Barbie, tights are from a seller on eBay (they make them), shoes came with her. This is how I’ll display her 🙂

I may end up with more of these… I have a retro Licca coming, too, but I want more Jennys… 🙂 We shall see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

