The Scaregrounds

One of my Cyber Monday packages arrived today (I think I have two more in transit)– the Scaregrounds playset (with Rochelle) and my first large doll, Gooliope.

I love pink-haired dolls! :)

I love pink-haired dolls! 🙂

It took me a longggg time to get the Scaregrounds box open, and even longer than that to pry open the ‘enclosure’ that Rochelle was trapped in.

So. Many. Pieces. -_-

So. Many. Pieces. -_-

By far my favorite version of Rochelle! Her hair was a bit flattened from the box, but I teased it out and tied it back, so now it is suitably fluffy. Her face-paint is gorgeous!

By far my favorite version of Rochelle! Her hair was a bit flattened from the box, but I teased it out and tied it back, so now it is suitably fluffy. Her face-paint is gorgeous!

The instructions were fairly simple; the set is far bigger than I expected (I won't be able to keep it out all the time, but it's not too large to store in between photo shoots). It's pretty detailed; my favorite part is the swing-- IT IS THE DOLL STAND! She latches into the seat, just as she would into a proper stand!

The instructions were fairly simple; the set is far bigger than I expected (I won’t be able to keep it out all the time, but it’s not too large to store in between photo shoots). It’s pretty detailed; my favorite part is the swing– IT IS THE DOLL STAND! She latches into the seat, just as she would into a proper stand!

Lots of little props for the dolls, too. I couldn't photograph it very well, but the camera actually opens up and has removable film inside!

Lots of little props for the dolls, too. I couldn’t photograph it very well, but the camera actually opens up and has removable film inside!

No circus is complete without a ringmaster, but I’ll have to make do with the Ringmaster’s Daughter, Gooliope.

It's a really cool box design. Mine didn't quite have her hands arranged over the cracks, but you get the basic idea. She was incredibly difficult to get out, but that was because I didn't want to damage her :P If I was less careful, it would've been quick.

It’s a really cool box design. Mine didn’t quite have her hands arranged over the cracks, but you get the basic idea. She was incredibly difficult to get out, but that was because I didn’t want to damage her 😛 If I was less careful, it would’ve been quick.

Online a bunch of people were arguing as to what the various pieces of her outfit represented-- I guess none of them actually read the journal that came with her: "I got some scary cool presents, too! The scarousel monster gave me a killer pair of shoes with horses for heels and a calliope hair comb. The tent monster and seamstress used canvas and silk to create a beautiful dress and epaulettes just my size. The wagon monster and blacksmith gave me earrings made from wheels."

Online a bunch of people were arguing as to what the various pieces of her outfit represented– I guess none of them actually read the journal that came with her:
“I got some scary cool presents, too! The scarousel monster gave me a killer pair of shoes with horses for heels and a calliope hair comb. The tent monster and seamstress used canvas and silk to create a beautiful dress and epaulettes just my size. The wagon monster and blacksmith gave me earrings made from wheels.”

A large portion of why I bought her is that she can wear some Barbie clothes. Took me a while to find a dress in my stash that looked good on her, but I quite like this one! I also put human-sized studs/earrings in (the fit quite well!) and tied her hair back in a tight bun.

A large portion of why I bought her is that she can wear some Barbie clothes. Took me a while to find a dress in my stash that looked good on her, but I quite like this one! I also put human-sized studs/earrings in (the fit quite well!) and tied her hair back in a tight bun.

She's SO HUGE. You really don't realize it until she's in your hands. Her joints are wonderful; my one complaint is that her knee joints are a little loose, but they are manageable. She's a fun addition to my collection :)

She’s SO HUGE. You really don’t realize it until she’s in your hands. Her joints are wonderful; my one complaint is that her knee joints are a little loose, but they are manageable. She’s a fun addition to my collection 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

