Forced to do it myself.

Monday, 12/21/2015

Watched the new Star Wars movie… I’m really more of a Trekkie (and always will be!), but…dude… I want a Rey doll. Like, so bad.

Do they exist? Not really. I’ve searched everywhere; action figures are coming, but they have molded clothes/hair… I want a DOLL. /frustrated.

3455425

In the meantime I’ve tried to content myself by buying up the Amidala/Padme doll outfits I don’t own yet. They are so pretty…

I really don’t understand. Star Trek has dolls– true dolls, with clothing made of cloth (not molded!) and real hair that can be styled, etc…pretty sure they have one for every character (I have Garak in my possession right now; I refuse to take him out of the box). Why, other than those white-faced Amidala dolls, can I not find any Star Wars dolls?

So (terrible pun approaching!) I will be Force’d to make one myself.

Her look is pretty simple— I think even my meager sewing skills could manage– so it just comes down to settling on the perfect doll with the perfect coloration and articulation and not allowing myself to convince myself to buy the super-expensive special figure that is beautiful but probably not worth it. I mean, it costs more than most of my BJDs and I would probably play with it less, so…

In the meantime, I have other projects to work on while musing over the Future Rey– should I make one? Should I hold out and see if they make anything close to what I want that I can modify? I haven’t seen any dolls that are close yet…

I’ve been working on an idea for a superhero/alien comic in my head; it’s something I do pretty often, but I’m particularly fond of this one. Ironically, the character I’m most attached to goes by the name Rae (short for Na’Rae); I didn’t even realize the similarity until a couple of days ago when Brother Two pointed it out as I was verbally brainstorming… but I’m too attached to the name to change it now, so it’ll have to do. Anyway, I want to make a doll version of her, and I’ve ordered what I think will be the perfect one– Collector’s Edition Draculaura /cue awkward silence. Yes. Yes I am really taking a fancy collector’s doll and turning her into a rendition of my own personal superheroine. Her skintone is (strangely enough) pretty close to how I imagine Rae, and her hair will be perfect once restyled. I’m going to totally make her outfit from scratch, though. As for her shoes… MH Big Sister shoes might fit, so I’ll go through and see what’s available…it doesn’t have to be fancy.

Na'Rae

I also have been (dabbling) with light customization to pass the time– specifically, rebodying my Liccas; I managed to find adequate skintone matches for two of them today:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The blonde is Akiko and the ‘snow Miku’ is Miyuki. I still have two more to rebody, but finding good matches for them is proving very difficult -_-”


Saturday, 12/26/2015

Well, I’m back from a short jaunt up to visit my family…and arrived home to basically the rest of the packages I was waiting on. I figure I’ll go through and review all my new stuffz… because I have time, and because of some of these definitely had issues!

  • Frozen Dolls– Classic and Frozen Fever Editions (Disney Store)
Where do I begin?

Where do I begin? For starters, the Disney Store did make an error on my order, albeit in my favor– they sent me an extra Classic Elsa. Personally I find this concerning; one mistake usually means others are likely. Anyways, I bought Classic Elsa, Classic Anna, and the Summer Solstice Anna/Elsa pack. I love all the outfits– the detailing is beautiful!– but I’m not super impressed with their bodies, particularly their lower half. The Classic two have click knees but seriously warped ankles from the rubber bands holding them in their boxes. The Solstice pair have jointed knees, but Anna has seriously warped knees so her legs are forever spread strangely. She also has a stained hand 0_0 Neither Elsa can sit– their hips are almost fused; I can force them, but I fear they’ll break if I keep it up. Ideally I’d like to rebody them, but what could I possibly use for Elsa’s near-purple skintone?!

Well, at least they can wear Barbie clothes.

Well, at least they can wear Barbie clothes.

  • Way Too Wonderland Maddie and Apple
Love love love the Way Too Wonderland dolls!! I want Lizzie, Kitty, and Briar desperately :( Anyways, I managed to get Maddie and Apple thus far. I love Maddie's hair! It's a bit big for her tiny frame, though, so I'm thinking I'll rebody her on a Barbie and put her pretty outfit on normal Maddie. I'm really not a fan of Apple-- her face is just so...empty... but she has a nice skintone for rebodies and I love the outfit, so minus her head she will probably become a Licca hybrid once I find a skintone match.

Love love love the Way Too Wonderland dolls!! I want Lizzie, Kitty, and Briar desperately 😦 Anyways, I managed to get Maddie and Apple thus far. I love Maddie’s hair! It’s a bit big for her tiny frame, though, so I’m thinking I’ll rebody her on a Barbie and put her pretty outfit on normal Maddie. I’m really not a fan of Apple– her face is just so…empty… but she has a nice skintone for rebodies and I love the outfit, so minus her head she will probably become a Licca hybrid once I find a skintone match.

  • Art Class and Coffin Bean Robecca Steam
So far I have Signature, Dead Tired, Art Class, and Coffin Bean Robecca, as well as the Dance Class outfit and the Robecca outfit pack (plus Dracubecca, but she doesn't count here). Robecca always comes off somewhat Hispanic to me; I'm not sure why. Just look at the difference between these two, though! I've looked her over closely and I'm pretty sure the only difference is in the face-up, nit the mold; still, I love the unique look each version of her has! I have yet to decide which is my favorite, although I'm leaning towards Coffin Bean :P I suppose I should buy the last one-- Gore-geous-- and then decide.

So far I have Signature, Dead Tired, Art Class, and Coffin Bean Robecca, as well as the Dance Class outfit and the Robecca outfit pack (plus Dracubecca, but she doesn’t count here). Robecca always comes off somewhat Hispanic to me; I’m not sure why. Just look at the difference between these two, though! I’ve looked her over closely and I’m pretty sure the only difference is in the face-up, nit the mold; still, I love the unique look each version of her has! I have yet to decide which is my favorite, although I’m leaning towards Coffin Bean 😛 I suppose I should buy the last one– Gore-geous– and then decide.

  • Amidala Dolls (Bought for their Outfits)
Thus far I have learned that a.) her outfits were not actually meant to be removable, but can be (with effort) and b.) they are way too big in the bust for Takara Jenny and c.) they will probably fit Barbie, but definitely not Liv because of the tight sleeves.

Thus far I have learned that a.) her outfits were not actually meant to be removable, but can be (with effort) and b.) they are way too big in the bust for Takara Jenny and c.) they will probably fit Barbie, but definitely not Liv because of the tight sleeves. It’s a work in progress.

  • Galaxxxy Jenny, BYBY Clawdeen, Getting Fairest Raven Queen
I had accidently sent a few packages to my parents' house, so I picked them up during my visit. Frightseers Clawdeen was an impulse buy during Black Friday to get me to the Free Shipping Threshold, but she's really very pretty! After a quick hair brushing and easy ponytail, she looks almost sweet/innocent-- as opposed to the kinda angry look most of my Clawdeens. Galaxxxy Jenny was a special purchase-- I have this idea of turning my doodled superhero team into doll-form and doing photo-enhanced comics with them. Galaxxxy was supposed to represent Hoshiko, Defender of the Stars... but this doll wasn't quite what I had in mind. Her hair is beautiful, but frizzes/tangles if I so much as look at it so I had to tie it up. Her face is cute, but her legs are hard/hollow plastic, rather than the rubber click legs like the other Jennys I've had. I'm going to rebody her, but she is NOT Hoshiko ;) I'm thinking I'll name her Kaida and have her be Kaede's younger sister. Finally, Getting Fairest Raven Queen, whom I mostly bought for her headphones. I like her 'outfit' well enough, although I think I'll add some pants :P I mostly bought her for a donor body, although my brothers had fun using her and Clawdeen as ill-fated Dinosaur Riders. Rule to live by-- never fall off your dino. NEVER.

I had accidently sent a few packages to my parents’ house, so I picked them up during my visit. Frightseers Clawdeen was an impulse buy during Black Friday to get me to the Free Shipping Threshold, but she’s really very pretty! After a quick hair brushing and easy ponytail, she looks almost sweet/innocent– as opposed to the kinda angry look most of my Clawdeens. Galaxxxy Jenny was a special purchase– I have this idea of turning my doodled superhero team into doll-form and doing photo-enhanced comics with them. Galaxxxy was supposed to represent Hoshiko, Defender of the Stars… but this doll wasn’t quite what I had in mind. Her hair is beautiful, but frizzes/tangles if I so much as look at it so I had to tie it up. Her face is cute, but her legs are hard/hollow plastic, rather than the rubber click legs like the other Jennys I’ve had. I’m going to rebody her, but she is NOT Hoshiko 😉 I’m thinking I’ll name her Kaida and have her be Kaede’s younger sister. Finally, Getting Fairest Raven Queen, whom I mostly bought for her headphones. I like her ‘outfit’ well enough, although I think I’ll add some pants 😛 I mostly bought her for a donor body, although my brothers had fun using her and Clawdeen as ill-fated Dinosaur Riders. Rule to live by– never fall off your dino. NEVER. Raven did come with one loose wrist that I may have to MacGyver later; other than that she’s fine.

Kaida in what I had planned as the Hoshiko outfit :( Sadly it is not for her.

Kaida in what I had planned as the Hoshiko outfit 😦 Sadly it is not for her.

  • Ashlynn/Hunter, FdC Clawdeen, Lorna McNessie
More mail... the Ashlynn/Hunter pack was the result of me trying to buy WtW Lizzie from an out-of-stock seller; they were my replacement prize. Lovin' Hunter's outfit, though his hair is... well, it *is*, although I wish it weren't! Ashlynn's skintone looks close to a Barbie skintone, so she should make a good body donor. Her hair was horrid right out of the box...massively tangly. Finally got FdC Clawdeen! This was literally my fourth try; I finally bit the bullet and bought her upmarked from a reseller -_-'' She's everything I hoped for, and with a carefully curated wardrobe she should make a perfect Cerise Wolf mock-up :) Lorna McNessie-- I had her on my wishlist a longgggg time. She's a lot darker and sparkly-er in person; I'm still deciding if I like that. Her hair was flat out of the box but poofed nicely after being brushed.

More mail… the Ashlynn/Hunter pack was the result of me trying to buy WtW Lizzie from an out-of-stock seller; they were my replacement prize. Lovin’ Hunter’s outfit, though his hair is… well, it *is*, although I wish it weren’t! Ashlynn’s skintone looks close to a Barbie skintone, so she should make a good body donor. Her hair was horrid right out of the box…massively tangly.
Finally got FdC Clawdeen! This was literally my fourth try; I finally bit the bullet and bought her upmarked from a reseller -_-” She’s everything I hoped for, and with a carefully curated wardrobe she should make a perfect Cerise Wolf mock-up 🙂
Lorna McNessie– I had her on my wishlist a longgggg time. She’s a lot darker and sparkly-er in person; I’m still deciding if I like that. Her hair was flat out of the box but poofed nicely after being brushed.

IMG_20151225_230135849

  • Collector’s Edition Draculaura
She's really something. She has a nice weight to her, and her joints pose beautifully. I love how just brushing out and tying back her hair brings her close to my vision of Na'Rae! With the right outfit, with a little bit of customization... yes. She will be perfect. As for the doll itself-- really well-packaged. Accessories are incredible; I'm especially fond of the working parasol and the fact that her hat has a functional hat pin to keep it in place! Downsides-- her dress left black stains on her upper legs and shoulder, as well as on the box itself. An she had glue on her face with a couple of hairs stuck to it-- those were really hard to remove. But considering I waited until she was only $28... yeah. Not a problem. I hope they release similar versions of Clawdeen and Robecca-- can you imagine the steampunk dress she could have?!

She’s really something. She has a nice weight to her, and her joints pose beautifully. I love how just brushing out and tying back her hair brings her close to my vision of Na’Rae! With the right outfit, with a little bit of customization… yes. She will be perfect.
As for the doll itself– really well-packaged. Accessories are incredible; I’m especially fond of the working parasol and the fact that her hat has a functional hat pin to keep it in place! Downsides– her dress left black stains on her upper legs and shoulder, as well as on the box itself. An she had glue on her face with a couple of hairs stuck to it– those were really hard to remove. But considering I waited until she was only $28… yeah. Not a problem. I hope they release similar versions of Clawdeen and Robecca– can you imagine the steampunk dress she could have?!

 

So… shouldn’t have any more packages coming, really. I have two left in transit that are running a little late, and my first MoC layaway will be paid off at the end of this month, so that may be arriving soon-ish. Other than that, I’m going to try to buy some actually useful stuff the next couple of months, and maybe track down the WtW girls and EAH Deerla in person (supporting local stores and all that)…otherwise I’ll just do an Amazon order and call it good.

Other than that–

The Fur Beast has rediscovered the Doll Shelf. Even Elsa looks concerned.

The Fur Beast has rediscovered the Doll Shelf. Even Elsa looks concerned.

Apparently toys went really big this year. The giant MH dolls are kinda cool, but I really have no use for them (they can't bend their legs -_-'' ). Giant Darth Vader is...a huge space-taker. He's almost as big as my littlest brother 0_o. Finally, you know have the ability to grow plants on the back of an Indominus Rex or to launch Bobba Fett's head into space. Yeah.

Apparently toys went really big this year. The giant MH dolls are kinda cool, but I really have no use for them (they can’t bend their legs -_-”
). Giant Darth Vader is…a huge space-taker. He’s almost as big as my littlest brother 0_o. Finally, you know have the ability to grow plants on the back of an Indominus Rex or to launch Bobba Fett’s head into space. Yeah.

...I have a lot of work to do. This is the Pile of WIP. These are all either for body donations or need to be redressed/finished in some way. Once I actually sit down to do it, it shouldn't take long, but I've been really busy! Maybe this week it'll finally quiet down enough for me to speed through these...

…I have a lot of work to do. This is the Pile of WIP. These are all either for body donations or need to be redressed/finished in some way. Once I actually sit down to do it, it shouldn’t take long, but I’ve been really busy! Maybe this week it’ll finally quiet down enough for me to speed through these…

 

 

Catch y’all later! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

