April 2016 Art Snacks :)

My Art Snacks box arrived yesterday! πŸ™‚ So far I’d say Art Snacks and iPen are tied in the enjoyment factor… Maker Monthly is currently irritating me/no communication/ no shipment/ charged me for two months and I haven’t received anything so far…a lot of people seem to be in the same boat. *sigh* I deal with that mess later.

Anyway. Art Snacks πŸ™‚

artsnacksapril2016 1

I love the packaging– the long little box with the stamp, the green wrapping paper, the bit of candy that I seem to have *ahem* misplaced… and the sticker which is already on my sketchbook πŸ™‚

artsnacksapril2016 2

The box came with a ‘menu’ that listed a brief intro to each of the materials + an average retail price. I’ve decided to tape those into my ‘sampling’ pages;Β  they seem like helpful info. Interestingly, this box had two items I had on my ‘want to try list’– Koi coloring brush pens and Kuretake metallic brush pens– and three items I’d never even heard of, let alone tried (Ironlak markers, Le Plume permanent brush pens, and a giant Faber-Castell pencil).

So I figured I’d give the ‘Art Snacks Challenge’ a try right from the get-go–

artsnacksapril2016 3

A piece created only with the five included implements. I actually really like that huge pencil, even if graphite is not normally my thing. The Kuretake is pretty, but I don’t think I’ll use it often. The Ironlak reminds me of Copic…but I still prefer Copic, methinks. The Le Plume brush pen’s felt tip shredded really fast, so I don’t think I’ll be buying more of those. LOVED the Koi, though– those I want.

Gave the Challenge a second go:

artsnacksapril2016 4

I did add water/a paintbrush to this. See how the Koi marker blends? I quite like it πŸ™‚

Already looking forward to the next box! *fistpump*

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

