May Can’t Come Fast Enough.

April has been the worst month my family has ever had; I am so sorry for not blogging more throughout the month– I have a ton of blog posts started, but haven’t had the time or mental energy to finish any. It’s been just a horrible month.

It started with Grandma’s surgery. I think I mentioned before that I live with my grandparents + one of my brothers to save money, as well as to help with various tasks. She went in for a fairly routine surgery, and the surgery itself went well, but something went wrong with the anesthesia/tube-down-her-throat, leaving her hoarse and unable to talk without coughing. It was way worse in the beginning– at first she even had the early symptoms of pneumonia; they put her on heavy antibiotics– but frustratingly even after a month she can’t talk for more than a minute or two without having a coughing fit, and she still has no voice.

A few days ago we went out to the garden shop to pick up flowers for me to plant. When we got home, grandma went over to look at something, tripped, and fell pretty hard. She couldn’t get up on her own, and without her voice she couldn’t yell for help. If I hadn’t been there to pull her up, I’m not sure what would have happened šŸ˜¦

Through all of this, Kya began to decline, eating increasingly less and hiding sometimes for up to eight hours. I love her– I love her more than any other pet I’ve ever had– but it was difficult to find a time to bring her to the vet in between all of grandma’s problems. I finally took her in this past Thursday, and it’s really not the best news. The actual exam made it pretty clear that her mouth is all messed up; her gums were inflamed and bleeding and everything. The vet is leaning pretty strongly towards stomatitis, and based on how bad it is, made it pretty clear that the ‘end game’ is removal of all Kya’s teeth (a pricey procedure– online it’s listed at anywhere from $500 to $5000). They took some blood and gave my girl pain killers and antibiotics, and told me to come back in a week.

Yesterday the fun continued. Grandma went into the ER with chest pains and dizziness; her blood pressure was off, so they went in to do a ton of tests to make sure it wasn’t a heart attack or a pulmonary embolism. We were in there for more than four hours and the results were…inconclusive/nothing.

We stopped at a restaurant for dinner– which was delicious (pulled pork quesadilla…)– and about halfway through my meal I got a call from Kya’s vet. Most of her bloodwork came back fine, but one specific one was off; it was hard to hear her in the restaurant, but she said something about a virus, and it could be really bad, and she’d have more information for me when I went in Thursday. The pain medication and antibiotics really have made Kya a different cat for right now; she’s twice as affectionate and eating darn near constantly– but now I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop šŸ˜¦ She’s only three years old…

So, yeah, that was my April. Please please please let May go better!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May Can’t Come Fast Enough.

  1. empress27 says:

    I hope so much that your month goes better. Hope Kya gets better soon and your Grandma improves. xx

  2. Pingback: Kya Riko | Without Your Wings

Leave a Reply

